Mentium

Another Naltrexone question

Mentium

I've looked this up on google with no luck, so I thought I'd see if anyone here had any thoughts on the following.

Awaiting  the arrival of my first batch of Nal and it occurred to me that it messes around with one's mood brain chemistry and in particular as I understand it serotonin related mechanisms. 

I take an anti depressant and have done for some years. Anyway I was wondering if Nal might interfere with it in some way. 

Any thoughts?

StuckinLA

I could be completely wrong about this, but I thought nal worked more on dopamine than serotonin. Please, others join in and correct me if I'm spouting nonsense. 

Mentium

I'm no expert either and I may well be confused about brain chemistry areas that have no relationship one with the other. I should perhaps read up a bit more! However I know there are some very knowledgeable people here r.e this subject.

StuckinLA

Hope these help:

You will need register or log in to read this content

That second one has its own website and a free sample:

EDIT: Sorry, I try not to link to Amazon anymore, but obviously you can get them there, too.

Edited by StuckinLA

Mentium

Thanks - I have the book. I am probably misguided on this. My starting point was that if opioid receptors are knocked out by Naltrexone, then perhaps it is hard to get pleasure from anything much while taking it. I then wondered if somehow it might interfere with the brain chemistry that moderates mood. I'm probably just displaying my ignorance. Will dig around a bit more.

phoenix

Naltrexone works on Endorphins, not serotonin.

Endorphins are the body's natural opions - naltrexone blocks opiod receptors, which means Endorphins and other opiods such as codeine, morphine etc are also blocked which is why nal users carry a card with them explaining how pain relief should be administered in the case of emergency. The cards are usually found in the box the meds arrive in, if not you can type up your own.