The End of my Addiction

Miranda212

This forum is so necessary. Thank you NeNe.

I have been using Baclofen for 10 months. I have never not been alcoholic. Long history, but no need to go into it now. I'm more interested in hearing the experience of others using B. When I started, I had been sober for four years, heavily involved in A.A. But I wasn't finding the relief I needed. Adjusting to B was challenging and remains so. The sedation factor almost ended it for me. I was able to counter it and continue. The psychological effects are remarkable and to a certain extent, destabilizing. I had no idea that anxiety was the determining factor in my makeup until I was suddenly, seemingly miraculously, free of it. It's been a process of relearning my life. This will sound odd, but for the first time I have a conscious role in it. For the first while on B, I was almost obnoxiously self-centered. So full of this new self. Now I'm learning to renegotiate relationships. I have such changed feelings about so much. It's tricky though and I'm just finding my way.

I don't mean to suggest I have reservations about Baclofen. It has changed my life in ways I couldn't have known to wish for. I didn't know it, but I'd never experienced pure pleasure Before, I always felt chased by worries. Not now. I'm comfortable in my own skin. For the first time, I feel genuine contentment. I still can't believe that a pharmaceutical can bring about those changes. And that I was lucky enough to stumble on it.

I'm wondering, what it has been like for others. 

• Like 5