The End of my Addiction

Hello! New here.... :>)>

Woody Woods

Hiya folks, Woody here.... Apologies for the unduly long and waffly post........

I have been directed over here from the 'mywayout' forum by someone.... I had mentioned in my first tentative (but long-winded) post over there that I was interested in trying Baclofen, and I gather that folks here have some experience in that field.... I'm very pleased to have joined both forums (fora?) in any case, and have enjoyed lurking in several threads since I came across both sites, and was struck by how much others' frank descriptions of their thoughts and experiences so closely echo my own :>)>

A brief bit about me - I was born in the West of England, living currently in the Republic of Ireland (I was a 'Brefugee' long before it became, shall we say, 'pressing,' as is currently the case for many of my countrymen- and ladies!).... I am a blues musician and very keen on woodworking and gardening.... I also have a longstanding (10+ years) of alcohol abuse under my belt, which I have very recently taken the first baby-steps towards addressing.... Like so many others, I turned to drinking as a way to alleviate crippling anxiety, and transform myself, (like Clark Kent in a 'phone box), from being an introverted recluse to being an ebullient, sociable and (hopefully) modestly entertaining performer on the local pub circuit.... And then of course, more drinks to knock myself out afterwards, and finally get some form of fitful sleep, which I never seem to achieve until the sun rises and the rooster crows.... Over the years, more and more drinks were required to achieve the desired effect, until I reached the distressing state in which I currently find myself... rinse and repeat, etc...