The End of my Addiction

Neos progress and my story

neophyte

long time poster on MWO but new here glad we can regulate the trolls here.

my story is as follows, when when my hormones hit when i was 12 i suddenly had problems with anxiety and depression that did not abate at all until recently. I got into drugs at 16 smoking cannabis at 16, party drugs mdma, amphetamines also, then 18 booze but i was never addicted until much later on. my first problem with addiction started when i was at university, at that time the anxiety, mainly social anxiety manifested itself in panic attacks. I knew I had to do something so i went to the dr and went on zoloft (SSRI) aged 21 i think, which did not address the problem fully. I soon developed a codeine addiction which at the time seemed to address my anxiety that SSRIs seemed to not address.

Years later I graduated and became an office worker, the social anxiety became much worse and even though i was taking codeine, i found respite in alcohol. from age 24 or so to 29 i was drinking daily, mainly 350ml of scotch whiskey daily. It ended up making my mental health much worse and when I changed jobs in 2013 I was a mental mess, i was paranoid of that people were orchestrating plans against me, I was combing through conversations for insults and had zero confidence. I realised that alcohol was responsible for this as it made my mental health worse, so i searched the internet for answers, initially naltrexone looked to be the answer but i soon found MyWayOut and saw all the chatter about baclofen, i researched this heavily and in no time i started on my regime. At the beginning of 2014 i reached indifference, however my mental issues did not abate until i found the right medications. I currently take lexapro instead of zoloft and im testosterone replacement therapy in which i feel much better. I have little anxiety despite my current alcoholism.