The End of my Addiction

Help with a routine for Baclofen

stuckinhell

Hi there, I'm a newbie to any type of discussion group so please forgive my ignorance!

I guess the reason for my post is to ask for any incite into:
1. How I should use Baclofen based on what I've already experienced?
2. Did anyone else have the same side effects & how did they work Baclofen into their routine whilst still drinking?
3. How much, how long & when should I take Baclofen for it to take effect?

I've tried Campril, Naltrexone, going into rehab, day sessions etc but nothing has made an improvement on my daily, excessive drinking. I have some sort of compulsion that I just cannot stop! It sounds weird to others who aren't addicted to anything. My husband says, "just stop" but he doesn't realise how hard that is for me. I can't "just stop". I can't even cut back!!

Aside from continually telling me all I can do is "cut back", my psychiatrist casually mentioned Baclofen but hadn't had much experience with it. She prescribed 1 x 10mg per day. I filled the script & started googling.

I found great information from the Royal Perth Hospital & had a really good feeling about this new medication & knew I was going to stop my addiction. 

I started following the routine for alcoholics who crave in the late afternoon. Unfortunately I had some full on side effects that are still occurring. Taking the drug makes me stay up until 1-2am, drink more, constantly pass out then wake up & start drinking again. Feel sleepy throughout the day. I don't think I get insomnia, more the fact that I just refuse to go to bed at night. It makes me "more drunk" than I normally would be when I'd had the same amount of alcohol without Baclofen. The more Baclofen I take - which was only up to 40mg a day - the more I'd stay up & the more I'd drink. It's helped so much with social anxiety though.