The End of my Addiction

Hi, my name is Greg, and I'm an alcoholic

IWantOut

So, that's apparently the intro you give at AA meetings.  I've never actually been to one, for multiple reasons.  But a biggie is because I understood that their philosophy was that an alcoholic needed to "hit rock bottom" before they could get better.  I've never been to rock bottom yet.  I've been holding down the same job for 20 years, don't have any DUIs or unexplained broken bones, and am still living with the woman who loves me and my two great little kids.

And yet, I'm ready to be done with this.  I have resolved in the past to "cut down", and have done so for a while, only to end up overdoing it again within a week or so.  But I still don't think "the AA way" is where I'm at.

I actually ordered baclofen online over a year ago, on an impulse to get this monkey off my back.  But once I read about how it works, that you can't just pop a couple pills before beginning drinking, to give you more ability to stop, I never took any.  I wasn't ready to make the commitment yet.  Now I am.  So, I am on day 3 of taking 10 mg a day, after reading the prescribing guidelines posted in a link on this site.  Tomorrow I have to decide whether to bump up to a higher dose, or stay at 10 mg for 5 days.  I would really like to reach my indifference threshold as soon as possible, but don't want to experience side effects that are going to worry my family.